Cooper’s Eyes: Legos

Kestrel, since you’re away, I thought I might try my hand at recording things of interest that we’re doing around the house.  This one involved something I think you too would like a great deal: Legos.

I had never heard of these before.  They are small plastic bricks used to build, construct, and create.  They are truly amazing.  Sparrow said there was a basket of them at the side door this morning with a note from Vega, saying that the government sent some to Dolli Lane and that Nim wanted to share them with us because the Littles enjoyed them so.  (no, she did not send everything they have, so thankfully they are still entertained)

The bricks stack on top of each other and latch together fairly tightly.  It’s akin to building with blocks, but the blocks don’t tumble apart if you touch them the wrong way.  At first, I had to stop and look at them, considering what to do with them.

Cooper_Lego-Thinking_01

But then Meikiko came over with a brick and suggested that we build a house.

Meikiko_Lego_01

There was a doll made of the same material, and Meikiko has her Totoro figure, so making a house was logical a idea.  So we each picked up some different pieces and started building it up.

Sparrow was less invested in the construction phase.  She was fascinated by the doll figure.  (I did not mention to her that it had a face on the back of its head as well.  I was concerned that might be upsetting.  I don’t think she has noticed yet.  I would rather not  be the one to bring it to her attention.)

Sparrow_LegoDoll_01

I was still busy working over the finer points of the house when Meikiko decided that no, we were most definitely done, and it was time to play.  Sparrow had set the Lego figure in the house area, and that was enough invitation for the both of them.

Meikiko_Lego-Play_01

I watched while Meikiko and Sparrow worked with the figures, moving them in and out of the house area.  I wish we had more bricks, though: the walls were fairly short, and I could see definite possibilities for making Lego-based furniture for the dolls.  Perhaps another time.

These toys seem like something you would greatly enjoy, Kestrel.  We’ll probably return these bricks to Dolli Lane, but I’m sure Nim would loan us some more when you get back from Washington State (or we can go over there and play with the Littles).  In the meantime, I hope you and Pip are having a good time!  We do miss you and Riley around here, but I know we’ll see you again soon.  Please say hello to Pip and Amalynn and Auntie Glenda for us.

~Cooper

One thought on “Cooper’s Eyes: Legos

Leave a Reply

